Home Off the Top Board of Governors’ Chair Named at MacEwan University

Board of Governors’ Chair Named at MacEwan University

Ione Challborn

MacEwan University recently announced its new board of governors’ chair: Ione K. Challborn.

Challborn is the current executive director of the Canadian Mental Health Association – Edmonton Region and has previously held positions as the executive director of Edmonton Women’s Shelter (WIN House) and Yellowhead Emergency Shelter for Women.

“I am deeply honoured to chair the board, and I look forward to working with students, stakeholders, fellow board members and the community to ensure MacEwan University continues its proud tradition as a first-class post-secondary institution,” says Challborn.

“We are fortunate to have Ms. Challborn as our new board chair,” said university president David Atkinson. “Public members play an essential role in stewarding the university and ensuring the interests of the institution are represented.”

The chair represents the board of governors to the minister of Advanced Education. “Ms. Challborn’s wealth of experience with boards and her proven commitment for advanced learning will help ensure that MacEwan University continues to be responsive to the needs of learners,” said Marlin Schmidt, minister of Advanced Education. “I also want to thank interim chairs Enzo Barichello and Carolyn Graham for their contributions and for serving in this important role while the recruitment took place.”

Challborn’s interactions with MacEwan University go back to 1980. At that time, she was a project developer in continuing education. Challborn was also happy to support the University’s students through practicums in social work, early childhood development, and child/youth care. She has also been a very active supporter as a chair or committee member of numerous non-profit organizations, such as Edmonton Suicide Prevention and the United Way

The position of board chair at MacEwan University is a voluntary one, and it does not come with an honorarium. Allowable expenses are reimbursed as per institutional policy. The term runs for three years with a possible second-term reappointment.

MacEwan University was founded, originally as a college, in 1971. There is a strong focus on teaching, which enables the students to focus on their learning experiences. The University is very proud of the reputation it has built, and continues to build, for over 45 years. Students enjoy more than 65 programs, which are offered in a supportive, warm, inclusive and collaborative learning environment. Creativity, research and innovation are encouraged among the faculty and students.

Globe and Mail’s Canadian University Report scores MacEwan University highly, and in the publication’s 2014 report, MacEWan students awarded the University an A+ for outstanding teaching methods and reasonable class sizes, along with an A for the teacher quality and student-faculty interaction.

The Board of Governors of Grant MacEwan University is a corporation, as set out in the Alberta Post-Secondary Learning Act. The Board reports directly to the Minister of Innovation and Advanced Education, and indirectly to the people of Alberta. Annually, the board submits a Comprehensive Institutional Plan and Audited Financial Statements to the minister.